London Borough of Ealing

Ealing is a borough (and suburban district) in the western part of outer London. It is one of the largest boroughs, with a population of 338,400 in 2011. The area is well connected in terms of transport, having numerous National Rail and London Underground stations.

The borough has a long-standing Irish community, as is evident by the number of established Irish pubs in the borough and the popularity of Gaelic games. Around Southall, which lies in the western part, is one of the largest South Asian communities in the UK often - visitors often describe it as "Little India".

University of West London

The University of West London is based in the London Borough of Ealing.University of West London main buildingThe University of West London is a modern university that instructs 12,400 students. It gained full university status in 1992 as the Thames Valley University and changed its name to The University of West London in April 2011. The name reflects a re-focusing of the university's activities towards its Ealing and Brentford sites.

The university has eight Schools, which offer courses in a wide range of specialist areas. While not entirely vocational, they are intended to develop practical skills valued by employers. The Schools are the College of Nursing Midwifery and Healthcare; School of Psychology, Social Work and Human Sciences; School of Computing and Technology; London College of Music; Ealing School of Arts Design Media; London School of Hospitality; Ealing Law School; and West London Business School.

Most courses are at the undergraduate level, with 80 per cent of students pursuing undergraduate qualifications. Around one in five students are from outside the UK. The course satisfaction rate is 80 per cent, which is relatively low and equates to a satisfaction rating of 0.6 / 5.0.